## 2024 Florida District Nominations Committee Report

Your District Nominations Committee met on March 2, 2024, at Winter Garden, Florida, the following being present: Dale Schaeffer, chairman; Seth Lenderman, District NYI President; Pam Tooley, District NMI President; Lamar Courtney, District NDI President; Edgar Diaz, District Hispanic Ministries Director; Gilbert Dertes, District Haitian Ministries Director; Flavio Barbosa, District Portuguese Ministries Director: Don Myers; Bill Pursell; Don Boyle; Dan Campbell; Terry Gusler; Nancy Cortes; Brad Fink; Dennis Jones; Steve Walker; Jen Showalter; Monica Freeland; Cassandra Trotman; Mary Egidio, District Secretary. The committee recommended the following:

## PROCEDURE RECOMMENDATIONS

- 1. That the members of the District Advisory Board, District Officers, Auxiliary Presidents (also known as the District Advisory Committee) and Ethnic Coordinators make up the District Nominating Committee.
- 2. That in the event a nominee withdraws his or her name before the District Advance balloting, the nominee receiving the next highest vote would be placed on the ballot, providing they are in the top 50% of the nominees.
- 3. The names on the ballots are to be listed in random order.
- 4. That twice the number to be elected be placed on the ballot, with the exception of a ballot for delegates to General Assembly.
- 5. That no more than one minister and one lay person from any one church be nominated to serve on the District Advisory Board at any one time.
- 6. That election will be by plurality.
- 7. That incumbents be included on the ballot unless there are serious objections.
- 8. That no pastor or layperson be qualified to be elected to the District Advisory Board, Finance Committee, or General Assembly delegation whose church did not pay its apportionments within the past four years, subject to special exception as approved by the District Advisory Board upon consideration of the facts and circumstances.
- g. That nominations for two additional positions on the District Advisory Board (one lay and one ordained minister), which would be filled by non-Anglo individuals, be presented by the District Advisory Board to the Nominating Committee for placement on the ballot. These candidates would be elected to a three-year term.
- 10. In the elections for staggered terms, the person receiving the highest number of votes would serve longest tenure.
- 11. That a District Advisory Board member who has served 6 consecutive years (two terms) shall be ineligible for reelection to that board for one year following the completion of that service. (District Advisory Board recommendation)
- 12. That an online Nominations Survey be sent out to pastors and potential delegates prior to this committee meeting and that vetted results be share with the Nominating Committee
- 13. Nominating Guidelines:
  - Because some people process quickly and some people process more slowly, we give adequate time for all nominating team members to share names.
  - That we avoid nominating people out of a desire to honor them or recognizing them for longevity's sake, we need the best leaders available.
  - Consider leadership qualities, church health, missional effectiveness, and church growth when considering potential nominees.
  - Consider people who are team players at the local, district, regional and general levels. People who model a team spirit and attitude by their active engagement in district events and missional priorities.
  - If you find yourself wondering how to discerningly vote on people whom you do not know, as a team, we will try to help you understand the qualifications of the nominees.
  - If you think a person is unqualified at this time to serve at the district level for a legitimate reason, please DO NOT tell us why. Simply say, "I think we need to wait another year on this person."

- See Acts 6:1-7 for the qualifications of a leader.
- See Manual paragraph 33 for Manual qualifications of a leader.

"We direct our local churches to elect as church officers active members of the local church who profess the experience of entire sanctification and whose lives bear public witness to the grace of God that calls us to a holy life; who are in harmony with the doctrines, polity, and practices of the Church of the Nazarene; and who support the local church faithfully in attendance, active service, and with tithes and offerings. Church officers should be fully engaged in "making Christlike disciples in the nations." (115.11, 137, 155-158)"

## I. DISTRICT ADVISORY BOARD

- a. Ordained ministers vote for 4 staggered terms –(2) 2026, (2) 2027, in order of votes received: Nancy Cortes (incumbent), Jennifer Showalter (incumbent), Steve Walker (incumbent), Melvin Adams, Antonio Figueroa, Timothy Hancock, Kevin Jack, Dusty Phillips
- b. Laypeople vote for 4 staggered terms (2) 2026, (2) 2027, in order of votes received
   Don Boyle (incumbent), Dan Campbell (incumbent), Rick Kiper, Eunice LaBorde, Alice Libert, Bethany Silvas, Vance Unruh, Twyla Willoughby
- II. TREVECCA BOARD OF TRUSTEES (to nominate to TNU) vote for one
  Minister 2-year term (expires 2026) Brad Fink, incumbent, Virginia Bauer
- III. DISTRICT NAZARENE DISCIPLESHIP INTERNATIONAL (NDI) yes/no ballot:
  - a. District NDI President Evan Ryder (yes/no) (1 year term)
  - b. District NDI Board Nazarene Discipleship International Regional Representatives (vote for two from each Region one year term)
    - **1.** North: Nita Pullen (Incumbent), Tallahassee First; Rev. Sara Taber (Incumbent), St Augustine); Rick Kiper, Tallahassee; Rev. Crystal Riner, Orange Park; Rev. Mike Shinn, Jacksonville Lighthouse
    - **2.** West Central: Bernice Puente (Incumbent), Tampa Kairos; Timothy Hoyt, Port Richey Living Faith; Rev. Randall Benton, Lake Gibson; Jason Clemmy, Tampa Kairos
    - **3.** East Central: Rev. Ally Roden, Rockledge Cross Bridge; Stephanie Watson, Vero Beach; Rev. Missy Segota, Kissimmee First; Dave Hart, Leesburg
- IV. DISTRICT BOARD OF MINISTRY at-large members (4 year term to expire 2028) yes/no ballot <u>East Central Region</u>: Hugh King, Ronda Rieves, Willett Riley, Jen Showalter, Eric Skelton, Chet Bush, Pam Tooley <u>North Region</u>: Rita Coy, Antonio Figueroa, Dusty Phillips, David Maxwell <u>West Central Region</u>: Nancy Cortes, J. Edgar Diaz, Juan Lopez, Benito Renelus, Zoraida Semprit
- IV. DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS (Manual stipulates District Superintendent, 2 Ordained Ministers and 2 laypeople Term 1 year) yes/no ballot: District Superintendent, ex officio chairperson; Ordained Ministers: Juan Manuel Lopez (Winter Haven Centro de Adoracion Familiar); Dennis Woods (St. Cloud) Laypersons: Don Myers (Orlando Center Pointe); Monica Freeland (Monticello)
- V. BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE GREAT COMMISSION FOUNDATION
  Great Commission Foundation board is elected by the District Assembly. Fewer than half of these board
  members may come from District Advisory Board. The board now consists of seven members, with the District
  Superintendent being an Ex Officio member.

Current board: Mark Patrick, president (Jacksonville University Blvd); Brent Williams, Secretary/Treasurer (Tampa CrossPointe); Members-at-Large, Rev. Wayne Bauer (St. John's Trinitas), Terry Gusler (Rockledge Cross Bridge). Jason Clemmey (Tampa First Hispanic) Yes/no ballot – one year Ballot to fill vacant position: Jeff Foley (Orlando Center Pointe Community) – yes/no

Respectfully submitted,

DALE W. SCHAEFFER, Chairman

MARY E. EGIDIO, Secretary