2024 Florida District Advisory Board Report

We, your District Advisory Board – Dale Schaeffer, chairman; Hugh King, secretary; Don Boyle Dan Campbell, Nancy Cortes, Brad Fink, Monica Freeland, Dennis Jones, Don Myers, Bill Pursell, Jennifer Showalter, Cassandra Trotman, Terry Gusler, and Steve Walker are honored to submit the following report to the district assembly of the Florida District Church of the Nazarene:

As representatives of the district we:

- 1. Have met in both regular and special sessions to care for the work that is the responsibility of the board
- 2. Have duly reported and filed in the District Resource Center, 4720 Cleveland Heights Blvd., Suite 105, Lakeland, FL 33813, all records, documents and minutes that relate to the work of the District Advisory Board.
- 3. Have reminded pastors that the trustees of all churches and missions shall apply for and maintain nonprofit, incorporated status in the State of Florida. The District Advisory Board will not sign as guarantor of loans or give approval to borrow money, build, or buy property until evidence of active corporate status is provided to the District Advisory Board.

4. Ministerial business::

- A. That the following Elders be granted transfer and receipted: (E) Dana Franchetti (Indianapolis); (E) Alan Griffin (Canada West); (E) Troy Knudsen (Georgia); (E) Ricardo Muñoz (Georgia); (E) David W. Smith (MidSouth)
- B. That the following District-licensed ministers be granted transfer and receipted: (DL) Cynthia Knudsen (Georgia)
- C. Referred all interim transfers to the District Board of Ministry.
- D. Approved district-licensed ministers serving as pastors.
- E. Approved the following laypersons serving as pastor: Kissimmee Arabic, Nasir Barakat; Jacksonville Blessing, St. Juste Florestant
- F. Approved pastors under appointment.
- G. Approved the following ministers as Special Service Interdenominational: Elders: Greg Mills, Jerry Bimber, Robert Bush. Deacon: Rebecca Postlewait
- H. We concur with the following:
 - 1. That the following be removed from the Roll of Ministers:
 - i. Credential Released Having Joined Another Denomination: Elder: Dorman "Curt"
 Dowling
 - ii. Having Voluntarily Surrendered Credential: Elder: Terry Weyman, Jr.; Deacon: Jessica Campbell
 - iii. Filed Credential: Elder: Ellis Benton
 - iv. Resigned Credential: Elder: Alan Flood
 - v. Having joined the Church Triumphant: Elders: Richard Bruce, Theon Burt, Vernon Corzine, Merle Goodrich, Dr. W. Byron Osborn, Jr.
 - That the following be elected to elder's orders: Christopher Adams, Freddy Anselmo, Harold Torres Chaviano, Nahelis Colón Román, Yaritza Cruz, Hung Ngoc Dang, Kimberly Martin, Martha Martinez, Wade Stockton
 - 3. That the following be granted retirement status: Greg Brown (RA), Kendall Deford (RA), Milton Haripaul (RA), Jeanne Morgan (RA), Nathan Price (RA), Wayne Thomas (RA), Jenny Vander Haeghen (RA)

- 5. A review of the District Advisory Board's work this year.
 - A. Designated the following District Officers: District Secretary Mary Egidio; District Treasurer—Mindy Rickey; DAB Secretary—Hugh King.
 - B. Designated the following as members of the District Budget Review Committee: Brent Williams, chair; Mark Patrick, Dave Ramsey, Donald Myers, Terry Gusler
 - C. Declared the following churches as inactive (Manual paragraph 108):: Brooksville Bridge Fellowship CON
 - D. Declared the following churches as Disorganized (Manual paragraph 108): Brandon First CON, New Smyrna Beach CON, Tampa First Haitian, Brooksville Bridge Fellowship CON.
 - E. Officially Organized Lakeland Family CON (Manual paragraph 100)
- 6. Other business related to district finances:. Approved making the request to the Great Commission Foundation for \$100,00 to support new church starts and assist in church restarts.
- 7. Other business related to district churches and properties:
 - A. Approved the St Cloud CON and Orlando Center Pointe CON Capital Campaign Exception Request.
 - B. Approved the sale of the Tampa Grace parsonage.
 - C. Approved the sale of the Brooksville parsonage.
 - D. Approved the Orlando Union Park CON loan request.
 - E. Approved the St John's Faith Community CON loan request.
 - F. Approved the Jacksonville University CON request to lease church space.
 - G. Approved the Lakeland Lake Gibson request to self insure for wind
 - H. damage.
 - I. Approved and recognized the following Compassionate Ministry Centers for another year: Central Care Mission, Gleaners Dispatch, Mercy Drive Ministries, Inc., Nazarene Centro de Refugio, The Path of Citrus County, A Place of Hope, Clearwater First.
 - J. In addition, legal issues regarding the district were discussed and decisions made keeping the best interests of the District at the forefront.

We, the District Advisory Board, wish to express what a blessing it has been to work alongside our gifted leader, Dale Schaeffer. His vision, passion, wisdom and Godly leadership are displayed in all situations. We pray God's blessings and strength on the entire Schaeffer family.

Respectfully submitted,

HUGH KING, Secretary

DALE W. SCHAEFFER, Chairman